Users & Teams

Burhan Kesapli
  • Updated

Who can access users & teams?

  • Users with the permission Users & Temas can view and edit the settings

Access users & teams

  • To access users & teams, click SETTINGS_GEAR.svg expand the list USERS.svg

Users  

  • First of all, you need to have licenses available to create a user. If you have 0 unassigned you need to purchase more. You will find it under account settings. 

    To create a user:

    1. Click ADD_ROUND.svg
    2. Fill in personal info
    3. Choose license type
    4. Choose phone number
    5. Select what roles and teams to assign to the user
    6. Choose display number, language for statuses, time zone and default country code prefix
    7. Add additional information in needed
    8. You can now choose to create and send the invite right away (default) or:
    9. At the top, toggle off OFF.svgand it will become a prepared user you can invite later
  • To edit or delete a user, select the right one and expand it EXPAND_RIGHT_GRADIENT.svg

    To edit: 

    1. Edit the things you want to change
    2. Click save
    To delete:
    1. At the bottom
    2. Click remove user
    3. Click yes

    This can not be undone. If you delete a user you can not restore it.

  • If you created a user and chose to not send the invite right away this is where you will find it. To activate a prepared user:

    1. Expand send invites EXPAND_RIGHT_GRADIENT.svg
    2. Choose all or a specific user
    3. Click send
    The invite will be sent to the email address you chose when creating the user.

Teams

Here you can create new teams and edit existing. 

  • A teams is usually a department, and it is where you gather all the department-specific channels
    You can create a team from this menu with the steps bellow or via the main interface using this guide

    1. Click USERS.svg
    2. Give the team a name
    3. Select the members you want to add to the team
    4. Click create
  • To edit a existing team, click to expand it EXPAND_RIGHT_GRADIENT.svgThere is a few things you can do and edit in here: 

    • Change the name of the team
    • Change the avatar, by clicking on EDIT_PEN.svg
    • Choose which roles that automatically should be a part of the team
    • See lists of public and private channels
    • Create new channels
    • Add more members to the team
    Dont forget to click save after you have made your changes.
  • A disabled team will no longer be visible for users. It can be enabled again. To disable:

    1. Expand the team you want to disable
    2. At the bottom, mark disabled
    3. Click save

Roles & permissions

  • A role is a set of permissions you can add to users in order to do things a bit easier, for example, you can create a role named administrator for telephony, and everyone with that role can administrate the telephony part in the app.

    To create a new role: 

    1. Click ADD_SQUARE.svg
    2. Give it a name, e.g. administrator for telephony
    3. Give the role the permission(s) you want
    4. Choose to automatically give users with this role access to a team and its' channels
    5. Choose team permissions if you assign a team to a role
    6. Assign the role to users
    7. Click create
  • You can edit existing roles if needed. Just follow these steps:

    1. Expand EXPAND_RIGHT_GRADIENT.svgthe role you want to edit
    2. Edit as needed
    3. Click save
    To delete a role:
    1. Expand EXPAND_RIGHT_GRADIENT.svgthe role you want to delete
    2. At the bottom, click delete
    3. Click yes

    Deleting the role will affect all role members. Connected team memberships, etc, will be revoked.

  • We highly recommend you to be working with roles, with that said, there is another way to give users permissions to view & edit things in the app (If you are not using roles)

    To give all users default permissions:
    1. Expand the list permissions EXPAND_RIGHT_GRADIENT.svg
    2. Choose the permissions
    3. Click save

    Instead of this, we recommend you to work with roles. When working with roles it is easier to bulk edit and give multiple users the same permissions.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.