Manage activity statuses centrally

4 min read

Centralized activity statuses allow you to manage your organization's statuses in one place. You can create common statuses for the entire organization or customize them for specific groups and users.

You also decide whether users are allowed to create their own statuses and edit the statuses you make available to them.

Enabled or disabled – what's the difference?

When centralized management is enabled , activity statuses are managed centrally, and you determine what capabilities users have to create and edit them. When the feature is disabled , each user manages their own activity statuses.

Open and enable centralized management

You need to have the Activity Status permission, which is available under your organization settings.

  1. Click on the gear wheel .
  1. Select the company name .
  1. Open Activity Statuses .
  1. Enable centralized management if the feature is turned off.

Here you see an overview of the activity statuses and can create, edit or delete them.

By default, all users are allowed to create their own statuses. The statuses are visible to everyone and user editing is allowed. You can change the settings to suit your organization's needs.

Decide who can create their own statuses

Choose which users should be allowed to create their own activity statuses:

Alternative How it works
All users Everyone can create their own statuses.
Elected members Only the groups or users you add can create their own statuses.
No Users may only use the statuses that the administrator has made available to them.

If you choose Selected members, you add the groups or users who should have the right. Other users will use the statuses that you have made available to them.

Please note: The right to create your own statuses is separate from the right to edit an existing status. Editing is controlled for each activity status.

Create an activity status

  1. Click the plus sign (+) at the top right.
  1. Give the activity status a name .
  1. Choose who it should be displayed to and whether user editing should be allowed.
  1. Specify how the status should work using the settings below.
  1. Click Create .

Who should be able to use the status?

In Visible to, choose who should be able to see and select the activity status:

  • Everyone: All users in the organization.
  • Some: The groups or users you select.
  • None: The status is not displayed to any user.

Allow user editing determines whether users can edit their status themselves. The setting can be enabled or disabled for each status.

Example: You want to create a status called Customer Visit for your salespeople. Select Some in Visible to and add the sales group. Then only members of that group can see and select Customer Visit . They still have access to other statuses that are visible to them.

How should the status work?

Attitude What you choose
Accessibility mode Whether the user should be displayed as Available or Busy when the status is active.
Note An optional message that is only visible to other users within the organization.
Duration Whether the status should be valid for a certain period of time, until the beginning or end of the workday, or without an end time. Without an end time, the user needs to deactivate the status themselves.
Incoming call How calls should be handled on the landline number and mobile number. For example, you can let calls through to both numbers or just to the mobile number.
Availability in response groups Which response groups the user should be available in. See the options below.
Call recording Which call recording setting should apply when the status is active.
Mobile notifications How mobile notifications should work when the status is active.

Availability in response groups

There are three options:

  • Unavailable: The user is not available in their response groups.
  • Partially available: The user is available in the specific response group you select.
  • Available: The user is available in the response groups that the user is a member of.

Example: A user is a member of multiple response groups but should only take calls from one of them when the status is active. Select Partially Available and specify the current response group.

Edit an activity status

Select the activity status you want to edit in the overview and change the settings.

When you change a status centrally, the changes take effect for all users who have access to it.

To change who can use an existing status:

  1. Find the status in the overview.
  1. Edit the field in the Appears for column.
  1. Select All , Some , or None .
  1. If you select Some , add the groups or users who should have access to the status.

You can also change whether user editing is allowed for the status.

Delete an activity status

Select the current activity status in the overview and use the option to delete it.

Please note that this is a centrally administered status, so please check which users are affected before removing it.

Want to limit who can use the status? Change Visible to instead of removing it.

Disable centralized management

  1. Go to the gear → company name → Activity statuses .
  1. Turn off centralized management.

When the feature is disabled, each user manages their own activity statuses again. The organization's activity statuses are no longer administered centrally.

Related articles

Was this page helpful?

    Telephone system with extra everything and more